About Us Advisory Board Members Distinguished Observers

Distinguished Observers

Distinguished Observers

His Excellency Mr William Hodgman,
Australia's High Commissioner to Singapore

William Hodgman was announced as Australia’s High Commissioner to Singapore on 29 November 2020. He presented his credentials to Singapore's President, Madam Halimah Yacob on 9 February 2021.

Mr Hodgman was most recently the Inaugural Chair of the Australian Business Growth Fund. He served in the Parliament of Tasmania from 2002 until 2020, including as the State’s 45th Premier between 2014 and 2020. As Premier of Tasmania, Mr Hodgman initiated trade missions to the Indo-Pacific and Europe to promote economic, cultural and social links with Tasmania.

Mr Hodgman held various Ministerial positions in the Tasmania Parliament, including Attorney-General, Minister for Justice, Tourism, Hospitality and Events, Trade, Prevention of Family Violence, Advanced Manufacturing and Defence Industries, Parks, Heritage, Sport and Recreation, the Arts and Aboriginal Affairs and Leader of the Opposition. He practiced law in various roles prior to entering Parliament.

Mr Hodgman holds a Bachelor of Arts and a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Tasmania. He was admitted as a Barrister and Solicitor and became a Practitioner of the High Court of Australia in 1994. He is married to Nicola and they have three children.

Professor Chris Cocklin
Provost and Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research and Innovation)

Professor Cocklin is the Provost and also fulfils the requirements of the Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research and Innovation) at James Cook University.  He has previously served as Deputy Vice Chancellor (Research and Innovation) and Pro Vice Chancellor of Science, Engineering and IT at JCU.  Prior to his appointment at JCU, Professor Cocklin was employed for 10 years at Monash University, where he was Head of the School of Geography and Environmental Science and the inaugural Director of the Monash Environment Institute (now the Monash Sustainability Institute). Professor Cocklin was based at the University of Auckland from 1985-1997.

In his current role, Professor Cocklin has oversight responsibility for the six colleges and line management responsibility for the two academic divisions in which the colleges are situated.  He also holds portfolio responsibility for the Division of Research and Innovation and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander affairs.

His research interests are in resources and environmental policy, agriculture and rural communities, global environmental change, sustainable development, and corporate environmental management.