James Cook University Merit Scholarships

James Cook University is awarding Merit Scholarships to high calibre individuals with outstanding academic achievement and well developed skills in critical thinking and creativity. These scholarships are competitive and are only available for students studying at the Singapore campus of James Cook University.


JCU Scholarship Categories

We have three categories for JCU Merit Scholarships as follows:

100% Scholarship on ONE academic year*
50% Scholarship on ONE academic year*
25% Scholarship on ONE academic year*


*One academic year is equivalent to 8 subjects.


JCU Scholarship Eligibility Criteria

Applicants must:

  • Meet James Cook University academic entry requirements
  • Submit a complete application form including scholarship application form and relevant documents
  • Eligibility criteria varies dependent on country

JCU Scholarship Application Period

Applicable IntakesCountries Windows Open for Scholarship Application Submission Windows Closed for Scholarship Application Submission Scholarship Test Date Scholarship Test Location
NovMalaysia15-Jul-1923-Sep-194-Oct-19Kuala Lumpur
15-Jul-1923-Sep-195-Oct-19Johor Bahru
Kota Kinabalu
15-Jul-1923-Sep-196-Oct-19Kuching
Penang
NovIndonesia15-Jul-1923-Sep-194-Oct-19Palembang
5-Oct-19Jakarta
6-Oct-19Surabaya
NovCambodia15-Jul-1926-Aug-1908-Sep-19Phnom Penh
Laos1-Jul-198-Jul-1913-Jul-19Vientiane
Myanmar15-Jul-1907-Sep-1914-Sep-19Yangon
15-Sep-19Mandalay
Vietnam15-Jul-1929-Sep-196-Oct-19Hanoi & HCM
NovThailand9-Sep-1921-Sep-1928-Sep-19Bangkok
29-Sep-19Chiangmai
Korea2-Sep-1914-Sep-1921-Sep-19Seoul
22-Sep-19Busan
Nov Singapore 29-Jul-19 21-Oct-19 N.A James Cook University, Singapore campus
NovSouth India19-Jul-19 26-Aug-19 01-Sep-19 Chennai
19-Jul-1926-Aug-1902-Sep-19Mumbai
19-Jul-1903-Sep-1908-Sep-19Pune
North India01-Aug-1901-Sep-1907-Sep-19Delhi
01-Aug-1901-Sep-1908-Sep-19Kolkata
Nov Kazakhstan 01-Jun-19 25-Jun-19 02-Jul-19 Almaty
27-Jun-1904-Jul-19 Nur-Sultan
01-Jul-1907-Jul-19 Atyrau
03-Jul-19 10-Jul-19 Aktau
SepChina* 
*including Hongkong SAR, Macao SAR and Taiwan China
15-Jul-1912-Aug-1917-Aug-19Beijing / Shanghai / Xiamen / Singapore
NovChina* 
*including Hongkong SAR, Macao SAR and Taiwan China
TBATBATBATBA
* Application for scholarship received after 6pm, will not be eligible. NO extension of application submission will be entertained.
* Acceptance of scholarship after 2 weeks from date of results will NOT be entertained and will be deemed as null and void.

For more information please contact the following:


Contact: +65 8222 6833
Email: admissions-singapore@jcu.edu.au

China

Cities Country Representatives Contact
Beijing Summer Jiao summer.jiao@jcu.edu.au
(+86) 185 0008 9316
Tianjin / Liaoning
Jilin / Heilongjiang / Inner Mongolia
Elena Liang elena.liang@jcu.edu.au
(+86) 186 1253 8662
Henan / Hebei / Shandong / Hubei Zoe Liu zoe.liu@jcu.edu.au
(+86) 159 3629 6860
Shanghai / Jiangsu / Zhejiang / Anhui Derek Ma derek.ma@jcu.edu.au
(+86) 186 1388 9164
Shaanxi / Gansu / Ningxia / Shanxi Vivian Wen vivan.wen@jcu.edu.au
(+86) 1808 918 8688
Sichuan / Chongqing
Qinghai / Xizang / Xinjiang
April Zhang april.zhang@jcu.edu.au
(+86) 1814 8147 757
Guangdong / Guangxi
Hainan / Yunnan / Hong Kong / Macau
Lin Yuan yuan.lin@jcu.edu.au
(+86) 1352 2077 447
Jiangxi / Hunan / Guizhou / Fujian Crystal Cao crystal.cao@jcu.edu.au
(+86) 1850 6926 658
Taiwan Luo Zhenzhen zhenzhen.luo@jcu.edu.au
(+65) 6709 3621

India

Cities Country Representatives Contact
South India Suman Subbian suman.subbian@jcu.edu.au
(+65) 8388 8698
North India Anup Joseph anup.joseph@jcu.edu.au
(+65) 8228 8124
Chennai Surenthiran Prabhakaran surenthiran.prabhakaran@jcu.edu.au
(+91) 988 443 0735
Delhi Tanuj Soni tanuj.soni@jcu.edu.au
(+91) 920 220 4083
Kolkata Harish Chander harish.chander@jcu.edu.au
(+91) 981 198 9556
Mumbai Sudeshna Bagchi sudeshna.bagchi@jcu.edu.au
(+91) 982 041 1837

Indonesia

Cities Country Representatives Contact
Indonesia Natasyia Lim natasyia.lim@jcu.edu.au
(+65) 8139 6745
Indonesia Ria Susiati ria.susiati@jcu.edu.au
(+62) 816 141 6166

South Korea

Cities Country Representatives Contact
Seoul Donald Wong donald.wong@jcu.edu.au
(+65) 6709 3630
Seoul Do Yun Hwang doyun.hwang@jcu.edu.au
(+82) 010 7675 1905

Malaysia

Cities Country Representatives Contact
Malaysia Natasyia Lim natasyia.lim@jcu.edu.au
(+65) 8139 6745
Malaysia Eddie Siew eddie.siew@jcu.edu.au
(+60) 17 2706709

Myanmar

Cities Country Representatives Contact
Myanmar Yuki Zin Mar Soe yuki.zin@jcu.edu.au
(+95) 997 260 7836
Myanmar San Thu Zar Myaing san.myaing@jcu.edu.au
(+95) 9794 942 254

Vietnam

Cities Country Representatives Contact
Vietnam Selena Le selena.le@jcu.edu.au
(+65) 6709 3641
Hanoi Tran Huong Linh huonglinh.tran@jcu.edu.au
(+84) 904 562 445
Ho Chi Minh Constance Vien Nha Linh constance.vien@jcu.edu.au
(+84) 906 926 392

Central Asia

Cities Country Representatives Contact
Kazakhstan Shelley Wang shelley.wang@jcu.edu.au
(+65) 6709 3645
Kazakhstan Ivan Trebissov ivan.trebissov@jcu.edu.au
(+7) 701 578 2555




Apply For Scholarship Now

Gender *

The Singapore campus of James Cook University can contact me regarding information on other courses, future events and news updates: *
Preferred Contact Method *

JCU Merit Scholarship Terms and Conditions

  • This scholarship is only available for students studying at the Singapore campus of James Cook University (JCUS).
  • The scholarship is open to new Singapore students (Singapore Citizens, Permanent Residents and all pass holders excluding Student’s Pass) and new international students commencing in selected 2019 intake.
  • Continuing Singapore students and continuing international students who are in their final trimester/term of their pathway program excluding Postgraduate Qualifying Program (Business) are eligible to apply.
  • Scholarship awardees are not eligible for any other scholarship available at the Singapore campus of James Cook University.
  • The scholarship awarded is transferable only within the same degree level should the scholarship awardees decide to change course.
  • The scholarship is equivalent to the tuition fees for a maximum 8 subjects equal to One Academic Year at JCUS.
  • Minimum subject fees payable is capped at 12 subjects’ tuition fees for undergraduate program and 6 subjects’ tuition fees for postgraduate program following the scholarship award and any advanced standing granted from the assessment of application for admission.
  • The scholarship amount will be offset against the final subjects undertaken (up to a maximum of 8 subjects).
  • The scholarship is applicable for all Bachelor and Master Degree programs except for Bachelor of Psychological Science (Honours), Graduate Diploma of Psychology, Master of Psychology (Clinical) and Master of Philosophy.
  • For scholarship awarded to Bachelor of Business and Environmental Science or Bachelor of Business and Environmental Science (Majoring in Aquaculture), the scholarship amount will be offset from business subject fees only.
  • The scholarship amount does not cover any re-module fees should the scholarship awardee fail any subject during the course of study.
  • The scholarship may be withdrawn at any time if, in the opinion of the University, the scholarship holder’s progress or behaviour is deemed unsatisfactory.
  • JCUS does not guarantee and/or provide scholars with employment upon graduation.
  • If the scholarship holder decides to withdraw from the university and/or terminate the scholarship prematurely, the university reserves the right to impose repayment of all scholarship monies disbursed to the scholar.
  • It is subject to the university discretion to award the scholarship.
  • Scholarship is not applicable for transfer to any James Cook University campus in Australia.
  • Scholarship recipients are required to take on the role of student ambassador or any other similar role representing James Cook University to give publicity talks and testimonials as and when called upon to do so.
  • In the event of any dispute the decision of the university will be final and binding.